Frequent question: What organs are protected by your bones?

What are 5 organs protected by the skeletal system?

Protection – the bones of the skeleton protect the internal organs and reduce the risk of injury on impact. For example, the cranium protects the brain, the ribs offer protection to the heart and lungs, the vertebrae protect the spinal cord and the pelvis offers protection to the sensitive reproductive organs.

Do bones protect internal organs?

Your bones also protect many of your internal organs. Good examples of this include the way your rib cage surrounds organs such as your heart and lungs or how the bones of your skull surround your brain.

How do bones protect internal organs?

Bones also protect internal organs from injury by covering or surrounding them. For example, your ribs protect your lungs and heart, the bones of your vertebral column (spine) protect your spinal cord, and the bones of your cranium (skull) protect your brain ((Figure)).

Are bones organs?

Bones are organs that consist primarily of bone tissue, also called osseous tissue. Bone tissue is a type of connective tissue consisting mainly of a collagen matrix that is mineralized with calcium and phosphorus crystals.

What organs do bones protect quizlet?

The skeletal system provides support to the body. It also enables movement and protects the brain, spinal cord, heart, lungs, and other internal organs.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  You asked: Is muscle guarding voluntary?

How do bones support the body?

Bones work with muscles and joints to hold our body together and support freedom of movement. This is called the musculoskeletal system. The skeleton supports and shapes the body and protects delicate internal organs such as the brain, heart and lungs. Bones contain most of our body’s calcium supply.

What organs do the pelvis protect?

pelvis, also called bony pelvis or pelvic girdle, in human anatomy, basin-shaped complex of bones that connects the trunk and the legs, supports and balances the trunk, and contains and supports the intestines, the urinary bladder, and the internal sex organs.