Should trustees have safeguarding training?

Is safeguarding training a legal requirement?

Safeguarding training (also sometimes referred to as child protection training) is a legal requirement for all professionals who come into contact with children and vulnerable adults in their work. … It ensures children grow up with safe and effective care and are given the best life chances.

Who should have safeguarding training?

Each person who works, or has direct contact, with children, young people, and/or their families and carers should take and pass a Standard Child Safeguarding Course.

Who needs Level 1 safeguarding training?

Safeguarding Level 1

Jobs roles may include: administrative workers, receptionists, catering staff and cleaners, HR staff, health and safety officers, and drivers. In a healthcare setting this might include laboratory staff, transport staff, porters, maintenance staff and volunteers.

Who needs Level 3 safeguarding training?

Level 3 training is suitable for anyone who holds a management position and frequently works with children, or anyone who has a designated child protection role. These positions could be in schools, hospitals, sports clubs.

Why is it important to have safeguarding training?

There are many benefits of safeguarding training, including helping you to: Understand which individuals are at risk of harm or are particularly vulnerable. Safeguarding training will provide you with the skills to distinguish those under your care who may be at an increased risk of mental or physical abuse or neglect.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What personal protection is necessary when handling the chemical?

Why is safeguarding training important?

1. Safeguarding training will teach you the signs and indicators of abuse and neglect. There are many signs and indicators of abuse, neglect, exploitation, and other forms of maltreatment that you need to be aware of as someone who works around children and vulnerable adults.

Who needs Level 5 safeguarding training?

All providers of NHS funded health services including NHS Trusts, NHS Foundation Trusts and public, voluntary sector, independent sector and social enterprises require level 4 and level 5 specialist roles and should identify a named doctor and Page 2 a named nurse (and a named midwife if the organisation provides …

Who needs Level 2 safeguarding training?

Level 2 advanced safeguarding children training is suitable for anyone who frequently works with children and needs a more in-depth knowledge of safeguarding legislation and procedure. Teachers. Teaching Assistants. Childminders.

What is safeguarding Level 3 training?

This course is designed for people who work around children and need a strong knowledge of safeguarding. This course goes further into safeguarding procedure and the ways in which you should tackle suspected abuse to safeguard children from future harm.

What is a Level 2 safeguarding course?

A Level 2 safeguarding course should give you a firm understanding of what to do (and what not to do) in response to a potential abuse situation and/or if you have concerns about an individual’s behaviour. Assessment. No safeguarding course should be complete without an assessment to test your knowledge.