What are the protected classes in the Fair Housing Act?

What are the 7 protected classes for fair housing?

The federal Fair Housing Act prohibits the denial of housing to a person based on the person’s membership in one or more of the classes protected under the Act. The protected classes are race, color, religion, national origin, sex, familial status, and disability.

What is a protected class in fair housing?

The Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) expressly prohibits the existence of a restrictive covenant that makes housing opportunities unavailable based on race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, familial status, marital status, disability, national origin, source of income or ancestry.

What are the seven protected classes?

There are seven protected classes in the Act. Housing discrimination is prohibited based on: race; national origin; sex; religion; color; disability; and familial status.

What are the three categories of the Fair Housing Act coverage?

The Fair Housing Act

  • race or color.
  • religion.
  • sex.
  • national origin.
  • familial status, or.
  • disability.
THIS IS INTERESTING:  Why is email security so important?

What are the 11 legally protected classes?

Federal protected classes include:

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • Religion or creed.
  • National origin or ancestry.
  • Sex (including gender, pregnancy, sexual orientation, and gender identity).
  • Age.
  • Physical or mental disability.
  • Veteran status.

What classes are not protected under federal law?

Under federal law, employers cannot discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, or disability.

How many protected classes are there?

According to federal law, especially since the enactment of the Civil Rights Act in 1964, there are 10 classes or categories of people that are legally protected from discrimination.

What is considered a protected class?

Protected Class: The groups protected from employment discrimination by law. These groups include men and women on the basis of sex; any group which shares a common race, religion, color, or national origin; people over 40; and people with physical or mental handicaps.

What is a protected class employee?

Both federal and California employment laws define a protected class as a group of people who share a common characteristic and are legally protected from discrimination on the basis of that characteristic.

Which of the following groups are not protected under fair housing laws?

Which group is not protected under federal fair housing laws? Race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, national origin. … The court declared that the civil right act of 1866 prohibits all racial discrimination in the sale and rental of real property.

Which class is specifically protected by the Fair Housing Act but is not protected by the Equal Credit Opportunity Act?

Race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, national origin. Although some interest groups have tried to lobby to include sexual orientation and marital status, these aren’t protected classes under the federal law, but are sometimes protected by certain local state fair housing laws.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What are the CIA triad or the information security triad select all that are applicable?

Is everyone in a protected class?

Because there are lots of different laws, everyone is a member of at least one of the groups protected. For example, both men and women are members of a protected class because both men and women can take legal action if they are unlawfully discriminated against on the basis of their gender.